Knowledge base: All Platforms
Remove unwanted connection entries from the VNC Viewer drop-down list

This article applies to the following product(s):

VNC
VNC Enterprise Edition/VNC Personal Edition

VNC 5.1.x & 5.2.x

For all platforms you can use the arrow keys to navigate the drop-down menu to highlight the entries you wish to delete and simply press the Delete key to remove the entry.

For MacBook devices without a Delete key, the Fn+Backspace combination should also work.

 


 VNC 5.0.x

Windows

Use REGEDIT to edit the drop-down list:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\RealVNC\vncviewer\MRU

Mac OS X


Open a Terminal window
sudo bash
cd /users/username/Library/Preferences
vi com.realvnc.vncviewer.plist
Delete unwanted entries
Save file

UNIX


The recent connections files are stored in ~/.vnc/recent_hosts.

cd ~/.vnc
vi recent_hosts
Delete unwanted entries
Save file


 VNC Enterprise Edition/VNC Personal Edition

Windows

Use REGEDIT to edit the drop-down list:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\RealVNC\VNCViewer4\MRU

Mac OS X

Open a Terminal window
sudo bash
cd /users/username/Library/Preferences
vi com.realvnc.vncviewer.plist
Delete unwanted entries
Save file

UNIX

The recent connections files are stored in ~/.vnc/recent_hosts.

cd ~/.vnc
vi recent_hosts
Delete unwanted entries
Save file